Reversing a Tax Sale in Philadelphia

Reversing a Tax Sale in Philadelphia

Philadelphia is one of the few places in Pennsylvania where a home owner can reverse a Tax Sale.

Believe it or not, most tax sales are final in Pennsylvania once the gavel comes down.
Thanks to the Municipal Claims and Tax Liens Act, a homeowner has a statutory right to redeem their sold property within 9 months from the date of the acknowledgment of the Sheriff’s Deed conveying the Property.

Whose eligible to redeem their property after a Tax Sale?
• Any home owner who resides in a property in Philadelphia is eligible;
• Any home owner who rents their property out to tenants is also eligible;
• The key here is that the property cannot be vacant as home owner is not allowed to redeem a “vacant property”
• Another important point is that the property must be occupied on the date of the acknowledgement of the sheriff’s deed.
• Lastly, the homeowner must file a redemption petition within 9 months from the date of the acknowledgement of the sheriff’s deed.

If your property is subject to a Tax Sale it is important that you stay there otherwise you will not be allowed to redeem your property after the Tax Sale. Don’t move out – just stay in your home and I’ll sort it out for you.

Call me for a free consultation at (215) 551-7109.

Sign Up for Our Email Newsletter

 

We respect your email privacy

Email Marketing by AWeber